Ohio ACOFP Awards


Ohio ACOFP awards are designed to recognize Ohio DOs who exhibit the exemplary characteristics of an osteopathic family physician.  These include compassion, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to osteopathic philosophy, patient care, community involvement, education and enrichment of self and others. The nominees cannot be a current member of the Ohio ACOFP Board or an officer.  


Family Physician of the Year Award  

The FP of the year must be in active practice; have been in practice 10 years or more; and a member in good standing of ACOFP, Ohio ACOFP, AOA, OOA, and OOA district academy.

See a list of award recipients.

Young Family Physician of the Year Award

The honoree must be in practice in Ohio for less than 5 years. In addition, the recipient must be a member of ACOFP, Ohio ACOFP, OOA and the OOA district academy.

See a list of award recipients.

Family Medicine Resident of the Year Award

Each year program directors of the Family Medicine residencies associated with the Centers for Osteopathic Research and Education are solicited to nominate a resident from their program. The nomination must include a letter of endorsement and current copy of the resident's CV. The recipient must be a Family Medicine resident in an AOA approved Ohio program.

See a list of award recipients.

Distinguished Service Award

The award is given to an individual who has made lifelong contributions to the osteopathic profession as a family physician. Selected by the Ohio ACOFP Board, the honor is bestowed from time to time as deemed appropriate.
 The recipient may be retired from active practice.

See a list of the award recipients.

Resident Research Awards  

Ohio ACOFP sponsors a poster competition each year during the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium. The contest is open to all DO Family Medicine residents in an Ohio AOA or ACGME Family Medicine residency program. The winner receives a $750 cash prize. Previously, the award was a research paper competition.

OU-HCOM Student Awards

Student awards are sponsored by Ohio ACOFP and presented annually by the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine at the DOC awards ceremony in the spring. Recipients are selected by the OU-HCOM Family Practice Department and receive a textbook, eg The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, as well as a $100 cash award.

Ohio ACOFP/Katherine H. Clark Fellowship

This fellowship supports Family Medicine fellows at Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine. Fellows, also known as Primary Care associates, spend an additional year on their medical education during which time they teach, tutor, and mentor first- and second-year medical students; enriching their clinical skills and experiences in primary care. They also develop a scholarly project for publication and/or presentation at a national conference. The fellowship endowment periodically provides a $1,000 grant to be used at the discretion of the recipient. Students should contact the Office of Student Affairs for more information.

Contact Us

53 West Third Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43201
(614) 299-2107

Latest News

Ohio DO Testifies in Opposition to HB 177

[November 20, 2019]

Ohio ACOFP Installs New President

Athens DO to Lead Family Physicians

Family Physician Installed as OOA President

Charles D. Milligan, DO, of Orrville, to Lead Statewide Organization

View all »